Lentil soup

005

There are some things that are great about the weather getting cooler… you get to make soup and want to reheat it for lunch. On the other hand, by the time you get around to making the soup and putting it in a bento it’s now dark and hard to get an appetizing photo of the food. If I got up in the morning to pack the bento, it wouldn’t make much of a difference, as I’m at the time of year where it’s dark when I leave the house, and getting dark when I start to come home (some days, depending on how much prep or paperwork I need to get done).

I have some lentil soup, greatly adapted from Gordon Ramsay’s Healthy Appetite cookbook, although you can go ahead and make the recipe as is and be quite happy with it. Hubs bought me a box of frozen spinach (I’d asked for fresh… lol?) a couple of weeks ago, so I thought this would be a good opportunity to use it up, so I threw that in the soup with a carrot and some celery, which aren’t in the original recipe. I have some goat feta cheese to add to the soup prior to eating tomorrow, and an egg and frozen berries for sides. They’re not my faves, but my son ate all the fruit when I was away this weekend and didn’t tell me we needed more!

I have raw pumpkin seeds and raw cashews for snacks. Deelish!

4 thoughts on “Lentil soup

    • Yes :) It’s a lock and lock. I love it because it’s leakproof, so it’s perfect for soupy bentos. I’ll have a recipe for lentil soup up on my new blog: gfreebentolove.wordpress.com, later in the week if you want to check that out.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

