July 30, 2012: Edamame veggie ‘fried’ rice picnic bento

I’m leaving my husband home alone for three days/two nights and going on a mini road trip with my youngest.  It’s going to be fun – theme park/water park, hotel with a pool and private beach, and The Hunger Games on audio to listen to.

Being that it’s summer, and we don’t have Dad around to beg and plead for fast food, I’m hoping we can pick a spot to enjoy an al fresco bento experience.  I also want the road trip snack-in-the-car experience so the lunches are quite light.

Do I need to explore another pbj bento?  Nope, except to say that a certain someone ate sprouted grain bread the other day (he picked it out), so I’m hoping the one-off will become a trend!

‘Fried’ rice:

  • I gently sauteed an onion, a large carrot, and 2 ribs of celery in about 1.5 tablespoons of olive oil with a little salt (helps draw the moisture out of the veggies, a little is good) over medium-low until softened.
  • I then added about 3/4 cup shelled frozen edamame, and about 2 cups shredded cabbage until they’d had a chance to soften- only somewhat – I like these to keep their ‘bite’.
  • Finally, I simply stirred in (about 1.5 cups dry measurement) cooked brown/mahogany rice (managed to finish one bag of each lurking in the pantry!) and mixed it all together.  This keeps the fat content to a minimum, while still enjoying the deliciousness that is fried rice.  I like to cook the rice, fluff when done, put the lid back on, and leave it for an hour before frying rice, or…. leftover cooked rice is perfect for the job.
  • Soy sauce to taste right before eating.  I love the stuff, so for me, that’s quite a bit!

This makes a lot of ‘fried’ rice, enough for 2 hungry people’s dinners (I had a tamogoyaki, husband will have some sauteed chicken when he gets home), and the basis for 2 bentos.  It’s about 1/2 vegetables by volume, so definitely an improvement over takeout/food court Chinese fried rice (although they can be delicious when fresh, too!).

Smaller tier has a dried mango/cherry blend, and raw almonds.  Yummy!

2 thoughts on “July 30, 2012: Edamame veggie ‘fried’ rice picnic bento

  1. Pingback: ‘Fried rice’ and squash | veggie bento love

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

