August 10, 2012: Chili-rice and veggie sausage

Chili-rice… basically, equal amounts of leftover chili and sprouted grain brown rice, mixed together, then microwaved.  It’s leftovers, but repurposed so you don’t feel as if you’re eating leftovers.  I halved cherry tomatoes for garnish, as it didn’t look appetizing as is.

The other tier has some veggie sausage rounds, pepper slices, and cucumber.

Day 2 of the new plan got off to a better start than Day one, with coffee prior to the morning workout.  That, and I did 45 mins of walking instead of attempting a run in this heat.  And it’s not really that hot, but too much for me!

17 thoughts on “August 10, 2012: Chili-rice and veggie sausage

  1. I like to mix my chili half-and-half with rice the first time around, makes a milder flavored meal. I usually sprinkle a bit of parmesan on it.

  2. @Kiisu, thank you too. I will be back teaching again in September, so will be back to packing tasty bentos on a regular basis again. August 29th is my first day of work, and I can’t wait to get back to blogging regularly – it’s really fun, and I’ve met some awesome people.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

