August 21, 2012: picnic bentos

How adorable are these guys?  Even with nori crumbles around them, these smiley faces are awesome!  My house is a construction zone (will be fabulous when it’s done… but in the meantime, I’m a ‘lil frazzled!), and I thought engaging in some creativity needed to happen NOW.  This bento-making session did the trick!

OK, the bentos, yes plural!

I am away at a conference for the next few days, and my friend is looking after my son during the daytime.  As a gesture of goodwill, and because she’s just dipping her toes into bento, I made three for tomorrow: one for my son, one for my friend, and one for my friend’s daughter.  Maybe the weather will be nice enough that they can eat their epic noms down at the beach (cloudy today)!

2-slice pbj heart sandwich, babybel w heart cutout, hardboiled egg with nori faces, veggies, a few candies, and an iced tea/lemonade pouch for ‘Bow’.  With a kitty-cat pick.  Bow is a crazy cat lady in training.  She loves kitties!

3-slice pbj heart sandwich, edamame, Clif bar pieces (he spontaneously started eating them again, and I’m not complaining!), veggies, candies, and iced tea/lemonade drink mix for my son.  He currently won’t eat eggs or cheese, so I gave him alternate proteins to balance out the lunch.  I know the bento theory is that cute encourages kids to eat new foods, but PDD-NOS can be far stronger than cuteness!

Messy countertop, but all three bentos hanging out together.  My friend’s has a 3-layer pbj, the same side dishes as Bow, but a 3-in-1 coffee mix for her tasty beverage.  She deserves a treat!

(Can’t remember if my bff reads my blog… oops, maybe this won’t be a surprise!)

 

8 thoughts on “August 21, 2012: picnic bentos

  1. Aw, how cute is that! the heart shaped sandwich, the egg faces, the cute cups, just perfect!
    (I recently made something like my first bento when taking out lunch to the park. It was rather functional, but at least I did cut little hearts and flowers from bell pepper and carrots!)

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

