Aug 30, 2012: mushroom boursin mini pies

Pastry is my arch-nemesis.  It just never looks pretty when I roll it out.  Don’t judge me.

I found a mini pie/tart dish online that makes 4 individually-sized pies (with a pastry cutter for both top and bottom crusts).  It’s awesome.  I tried it for the first time today with an adaptation of Vegetarian Times’ mushroom pie: recipe!

I adapted it – no onions in the house, so I omitted those and the garlic, and put a decent-sized slice of boursin on top of the filling instead.  I also dropped the eggs to 2 whole and 2 whites, and used 1/2 cup milk.  I forgot that the crust needs seasoning – definitely needs amping up with a little more salt than the recipe calls for before rolling out.

I made 4 mini pies.  What to do with the other 3?  Eat one for dinner.  Easy.  Now, my friend and I both like mushrooms.  Neither of our husbands like them.  So I texted her, and made her a bento for tomorrow too.  Yay!  Now there’s only one mini pie hiding from me in the fridge…

Tasty side dish offerings include the very last of the English cheddar I got at a US Costco (sadface mode :ON:, but at least we can eat the last few cubes together… she helped me eat some last time she came for dinner, so I know she’ll appreciate polishing it off with me!), orange pepper, celery, grape tomatoes, and being that it’s Friday tomorrow, vegetarian marshmallow pie treats.  Nom!

2 thoughts on “Aug 30, 2012: mushroom boursin mini pies

    • Boursin is lovely in savoury baked goodness. I like mixing it with the flesh from baked potatoes for stuffed/twice baked potatoes, and I like semi-slicing up bread, putting slices of it in the cuts with dried cherries or craisins and baking the bread until crispy on the outside. Deelish!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

