Cupcake Friday – domestic goddess fail edition

Image

This was a pretty epic idea in my head until I started to work on it.  My husband asked me to make a cake, as opposed to cupcakes, for the outgoing editor of the paper he works at.  I was happy to get on it – his work family loves my cupcakes.  I really have to make them some soup or chili in the slow cooker to prove I can actually cook more than just baked goods.  Although I have to redeem myself first…

I borrowed the giant cupcake pan from my fellow cultist, Enaah.  She’s made really beautiful giant cuppies, so I had faith that I could follow in her greatness.  First problem – it took over an hour to bake.  I’m sure the cake was way dry.

I somehow managed to get the two pieces out of the pan intact – breathed a sigh of relief, and went to bed while it cooled.

In the morning, I had this fantastic idea of reverse swirls all over the top, fluffernutter (marshmallow fluff and peanut butter) filling, and then upward strokes of frosting on the sides to replicate the liner.  I hope you can see what I was intending to do.  You will note that the fluff is coming out of the middle – seriously – who knew it would do that?  The icing is a mess.  I would like to blame it on me icing before my first cup of coffee, but… that isn’t it.  This was a domestic goddess fail.

So, dissecting this, here’s what I would do differently.  I would absolutely perform a crumb coat/dirty icing job, let it chill, then start doing swirls and things.  I should have known, but it’s been a while since I’ve done a big cake.

That being said, the recipient enjoyed the inside joke fondant art (on the other side, none of y’all get to see it!), and hubby said they liked the way it tasted (he doesn’t like any kind of cake whatsoever).  Quoting Enaah, “taste ultimately, is what counts”.

Happy Friday!

7 thoughts on “Cupcake Friday – domestic goddess fail edition

      • Dense cakes like pound cakes works the best. If you use a pre-made cake mix, you need to change the ingredients slightly in order to make it more dense. Since the top and bottom part of the cake are different in size, I baked the bottom half for 15 minutes before I poured the rest of the mixture into the top half. After, I baked both halves together until the toothpick came out clean. That way the top part won’t be overcooked and dry.

        I had several recipes that work, but I can’t seem to find it. I believe my friend has it because she borrowed my large cupcake pan half a year ago.

      • I used the most dense of my vanilla recipes, thinking along those lines. I didn’t bake the bottom for 15 mins longer, but will if I decide to attempt this again. I get to give the pan back to Enaah today as we’re baking for a Fall Fair tomorrow. I’m quite relieved!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

