Oct 1, 2012: marinated tofu and quinoa

I’m not really sure this counts as a bento, but it comes with a recipe, so hopefully that will appease the bento purists out there for now!

Hoisin marinade (adapted from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison)

  • 1 lb firm or extra firm tofu
  • 1/3 cup hoisin sauce
  • pinch each of dried thyme and marjoram
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp fresh milled black pepper
  • 2 green/spring onions/scallions, including the greens, sliced into rounds

Combine the ingredients in a large shallow bowl, place sliced tofu (I made mine into triangles, just to be a little different) in the bowl, toss it around, place it in the fridge at least overnight.  The tofu tastes amazing – so flavourful – and is well worth the wait.

I baked the tofu on parchment paper (used for pizza last night, yay for reusing!) at 375′ for about 15 minutes or so.

I had some tofu on leftover sticky rice for dinner, and then with leftover quinoa for lunch tomorrow.  Lots of steamed broccoli at both meals.  This is why I’m not sure if I made a bento – it’s just leftovers which I didn’t dress up, cut cute, add a pick… either way, it will be delicious!

Morning snack – cottage cheese (not vegan, I know I tagged this post as vegan for the bento itself…) and raspberries, and another apple for afternoon snack.  I have a big bag of them, so that’ll be how it goes until they’re gone!

3 thoughts on “Oct 1, 2012: marinated tofu and quinoa

  1. I’m so happy I found your blog. I’m getting a lot of inspiration from your bentos. I want to learn how to make cute and yummy bento like you. Bringing my own bento to work will not only save me money, but also I can eat healthier. I’m looking forward to read about your perfect bento daily! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monday Guest Post Week 3 | Bento Amour

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

