Cookbook challenge accepted: lentil and caramelized onion croquettes

I so wanted these to work.  I had all the ingredients at home already, and who doesn’t like shallow-fried yumminess?  Unfortunately… despite being really well-seasoned, they don’t really taste of anything.

Oki, the recipe and procedure from the cookbook I’m delving into: Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison, with breadcrumbs adorning the page…

Easy enough to do, right?  I will say that this method of caramelizing onions was a keeper.  They were soft, and so sweetly flavourful.  This part is a keeper – if you’re ever cooking up piles of food for which caramelized onions will be delicious on, follow that part alone, thinly slicing into layers of circles rather than dicing.

Second part, or where it all fell apart (literally):

I used my cupcake scoop to measure, and it seemed to work quite nicely.  The mixture was extremely wet, which didn’t help things much.  The croquettes acquired a free-form loveliness, and while usually things that are shallow-fried become crispy goodness, these were crispy on the outside but soggy on the inside.

I made these five, then tossed the rest of the mixture into the compost bin, not knowing what else to do with it.  I had high hopes of putting a couple of these into a bento, but nope…. however, in the spirit of the cookbook challenge (clicky) I have to say that I did have fun trying a new recipe, and I’m glad for the gentle push back into a cookbook to pick something to try.  That’s the real adventure.

10 thoughts on “Cookbook challenge accepted: lentil and caramelized onion croquettes

  1. Too bad that these were soggy on the inside 😦 They look really good on the picture, but what can you do with looks, if they taste bad? I do hope that your next adventure will turn out better! 🙂

    • Thank you. As I mentioned in the post, the fun part is the adventure and getting into the kitchen. There is something lovely about reading through a cookbook and deciding what to try 🙂

  2. Pingback: Lentil soup and tasty sides | Gluten Free Bento Love

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

