Brown rice onigiri, edamame, and simmered squash

Tasty vegan Asian-inspired food for tomorrow 🙂

I found an onigiri mould on my travels, but can report that it doesn’t work so well for brown rice.  I will try again the next time I make sticky rice.  They look okay here, but are a little too delicate!  I lightly steamed some broccoli to fill the gaps.  I also have edamame, with black salt sprinkled on, and some simmered kabocha squash:

  • halve a small kabocha (butternut would work nicely here, and possibly acorn) squash, remove the rough ends at top and bottom of the squash, and scoop out the seeds.
  • Using a potato peeler or paring knife, peel random pieces off the rind – kabocha rind is edible, but removing some will make the cooking time shorter and render the squash more delicious.  If rind is not your thing, proceed to step 2 and cut off the rind after sectioning.  Using butternut squash?  Peel the whole thing 🙂
  • cut squash into the desired size pieces (1″ cubes would be good, or slices).  I did a combination of the two, as I’m the only one in the house who eats it, so I’m varying it so I can trick myself into forgetting I’m eating leftovers!
  • In a skillet/saute pan with a lid, place: 1.5 cups lower sodium veggie or chicken stock (whatever you have on hand, obviously I used veggie), 1 tbsp mirin (heck yeah Asian supermarket!  I’ve been looking for this forever!) which can be omitted if like me you can’t find it, 1 tbsp sugar, and 1/2 tbsp soy sauce and bring to a simmer over medium-low heat.  No lid?  Loosely cover with a circle of parchment paper or foil just smaller than the diameter of your pan.
  • Add the squash to the pan once the stock is hot and cover loosely.  Once the pot is back to a simmer, let it cook for about 20 minutes.  I oversimmered mine a bit, and the squash will start to fall apart (squashed squash?)… not so pretty as it looked when I cut it!

I had a fantastic bowl of noodle soup in Vancouver with pieces of simmered/steamed squash in it – amazing.  You could also mash the squash after cooking to vary it.  I will probably do this as the squash needs to be eaten.

Over both tiers, I sprinkled a little Asian seasoning blend.  Yummy!  Snacks are dried mangoes and cherries, an apple, and treat is a vegan mango jelly.  Deelish!  Don’t forget to enter into the giveaway!

9 thoughts on “Brown rice onigiri, edamame, and simmered squash

  1. Ooh, I’m loving the squash. I have a little butternut on the counter from my mom and I just might have to put that in my bento tomorrow. Gotta get to cooking it though! 🙂

  2. onigiri! I love it! There are only few Japanese restaurants in my country which offer this so I really miss it. Hope my foster mom will send some soon 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bao Bun and Butternut Squash Bento (#19) « Bento Amour

  4. Pingback: ‘Fried rice’ and squash | veggie bento love

  5. Pingback: Bao Bun and Butternut Squash Bento (#19) « This Creative Dream

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

