Quinoa chili and rice

002

Yummy, nutritious Quinoa!  Tastes great, versatile, complete protein, what’s not to love?

Here I have quinoa in a big batch of chili that I made in a grand total of about 45 minutes.  I was inspired to make chili as I was in Calgary, AB yesterday, where it was -9’C and foggy and windy.  It was my first dose this season of what winter has in store, and yes, having lived on the Canadian prairies for a couple of years, I know what it can serve up!  -9 is nothing!

  • Sautee 1 large diced onion in 3 tbsp. olive oil and a little salt (helps to draw out the moisture) over medium-low heat until nice and soft – about 8ish mins.
  • Add in 1 diced pepper (colour doesn’t matter – have you noticed how many recipes specify particular colours?  Use what’s lurking in the fridge), and sautee a little more until soft – about 4 mins.
  • Add in 2 cloves of garlic, smooshed, minced, sliced, microplaned, whatever you like to do to it to release flavour.
  • Add in 1 tbsp. cumin, 3 tbsp. chili powder, 1 tbsp. cocoa powder (gives a nice flavour, and no, doesn’t taste sweet and chocolatey) and 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper.  Stir around for about 1 minute.
  • Add in 2 cups of water or vegetable stock and simmer for about 5 minutes, until slightly thickened.
  • Add in: 1x28oz can diced tomatoes (do not drain), 1 tsp. oregano, 1 can drained black beans, 1 can drained kidney beans, 1 cup frozen or canned, drained corn kernels, 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, and 1 cup water.  Simmer for 20 minutes or so (once the mixture has come up to a slow boil).

Serve however you like it – some people like cheese, others sour cream, others green onions… whatever works!  This recipe freezes really well, but because of the quinoa, it will absorb water, so just add a little more water when you reheat.

I have a tier of brown rice, and some diced smoked tofu with the chili.  A warm, comforting meal for a damp, cool December.

10 thoughts on “Quinoa chili and rice

  1. I love quinoa, and I keep hearing of adding it to chili. This sounds great! I wonder if i could sneak it in without my hubby noticing (he isn’t as big a quinoa fan as me, but he loves chili!)

      • I have made it before as a side dish, and attempted quinoa cheesy cakes, He ate it, but he’ll eat just about everything. My mother-in-law made a quinoa chicken stew a couple weeks ago which was incredible, and he loved that, so I think if I turn it into a main dish with more ingredients he will enjoy it more!
        I will for sure be trying this recipe! And I always mean to add a little cocoa to my chili, but forget!

  2. Pingback: Homemade Quinoa Chili « Memoirs of a Kidd

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

