Soba noodle salad

003

There is an absolute moratorium on buying new food in my house right now.  Unless it’s a staple, and we’ve run out, of course.  For you Cupcake Friday! fans, this is how serious it is – I can’t close my baking cabinets.  There, I admit it.

So, right now, not only am I focusing on the usual bento love, it’s all about managing to use up the gazillion packets of food that are taking over the kitchen!  Here’s what I managed to do with the last of a packet of soba noodles:

Soba noodle salad (adapted from Nigella Lawson’s soba noodle salad recipe in her Forever Summer series):

  • 1 ‘bundle’ of soba noodles – this will be more than 1 bento’s worth of noodles, although appetites vary (there were 4 bundles in the package I bought, and the whole package is said to serve 6 according to the nutrition facts).
  • 2 tsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tsp mirin (sub honey if you can’t find it)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil is what the recipe requires – the brand I have (President’s Choice) is tasty but strong, so I use 1 tsp sesame and 1 tsp canola
  1. Cook soba noodles according to package instructions.  Watch them carefully – they are incredibly prone to boiling over in an instant.
  2. Drain the noodles in a colander and either rinse very well in cold water, or plunge the colander into a bowl full of cold water.  Don’t skip this step, or you may end up with a tummyache!  They need to be well-rinsed and cooled.
  3. Place noodles into a bowl or a bento, and toss with the dressing and let sit half an hour (if you can) if eating right away.  If bentoing, place the dressing in a cup to not run the risk of the dressing disappearing.  I actually only used 1/3 the dressing, saving the rest for the hub’s bento and the rest of the soba to snack on.
  4. The original recipe has toasted sesame seeds and 5 spring onions, but today I just sprinkled about 1/4 of a spring onion over the top of the salad.

I have a hard-boiled egg, grilled orange pepper slices (in the panini press – takes about 8 minutes or so), raw broccoli, and the soba dressing in the pig cup.  I had planned some apple slices, but there was no room, so I snacked on those as well as leftover noodles while making bentos.  It’s supposed to be a carrot star to decorate, but I messed it up…

Snacks are trail mix for the morning, and cucumber/carrot/sunflower seeds/home-made hummus for the afternoon.

9 thoughts on “Soba noodle salad

  1. Where on earth are you? Is there summer at your place? Soba noodle salad is the typical japanese summer dish. It looks nice and I love soba salad but it’s to cold here…
    You might also look at youtube Cooking w/ Dog for the soba noodle salad and very tasty dressings.

    • I’m in the Rocky Mountains in BC, Canada – and yes, soba is fantastic in summer, but I was really craving it and I am trying to use up odds and ends in the pantry. They were really light but satisfying, even in the middle of a very snowy day…. 🙂

  2. it`s like you are reading my mind! I keep meaning to buy soba noodles, I used to eat them in university all the time, but I always forget about them when I am meal planning! Great little recipe, I`m a big Nigella fan, so I am for sure keeping this one to make in the future.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

