Brown and Japonica rices, bean salad, edamame, squash – meals/snacks for a very busy day redux

003

Tasty! I had a little brown rice left in a bag, and some Japonica rice, so I combined the two and got this lovely deep burnished coloured rice for lunch tomorrow. I made a bean salad (recipe adapted from somewhere on the interwebz, but I cannot remember where, as I do so much food reading):

* 1 can beans (kidney beans today), drained and rinsed
* 1/2 pepper, diced
* 1 rib celery, diced
* 1/4 cup oil of choice – I used extra virgin olive oil
* 2 tbsp. vinegar of choice – I used apple cider
* 2 tbsp. brown sugar or honey – I used honey
* 1/2 tsp celery seeds
* salt and pepper to taste

Combine the ingredients in a big bowl (or large fridge container with a lid to save on washing dishes later), mix, let marinate a few hours in the fridge before using.

I can attest that this is quite the husband-friendly bento dish, too. To complete the bento, I have steamed edamame, and steamed butternut squash with a little red curry powder to kick it up a bit. I am really happy to have found frozen cubed squash, as I’m the only one in the house who eats it, and a whole squash can be quite the commitment!

I have a long day at work tomorrow, followed by a 1.5 hour long body fit yoga class, so I thought this might be a good opportunity to show how I pack all meals needed to travel with me for the day. Breakfast is overnight oats (1/2 cup quick oats, 1/2 cup milk, sprinkle of cinnamon, left overnight in the fridge). I have not been able to eat breakfast prior to leaving the house lately; not sure why, so this is a great way to get a healthy breakfast in. By the morning, the oats will have absorbed the milk, and then I’ll stir it all together and enjoy:

004

006

Afternoon snack is 1/4 cup hummus with a baby cuke and some red pepper. I added a swirl of Sriracha sauce (nom!) to mix it up a bit, but because it may stain my very cute mamegoma bento lid, I placed a pink Sakura baran to shield the cuteness. Priorities…

Then everything goes into a bag so I have a day’s worth of healthy eats to get me through.

6 thoughts on “Brown and Japonica rices, bean salad, edamame, squash – meals/snacks for a very busy day redux

  1. Love how simple the over night oats are. My hubby loves oatmeal, and I am always meaning to make it up like this for him to eat quickly in the morning. Can you make a few days worth and leave it in the fridge? Or do you just do one day at a time…

    • I just do one day at a time, but I’m sure it would keep for a couple of days. I have seen steel-cut oats baked in a pyrex dish/cooked on the stovetop and left to set in a pyrex dish, and then spooned out on a daily basis on several food blogs. I just can’t commit to the same thing for breakfast day after day. I’m pretty picky that way, even though I usually stick to the same kinds of things!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

