Pub-grub inspired bento, vegan overnight oats, and snacks

>005

I just got back from a conference, and was inspired by pub grub, snacky food that can be eaten with fingers. I didn’t get to have coleslaw with my veggie burger, but those who had chicken fingers or fish and chips did. It looked really, really good. I would have asked to sub it for the salad had I known. I made some smashed potatoes (adapted from: http://www.familyfreshcooking.com/2012/12/20/parmesan-smashed-potatoes-recipe/) with tomato jam for flavour, and a little cheese baked on top, and some chick’n nuggets, as what would a pub grub menu be without deep fried breaded things on it? (I baked these though, of course). Barbecue sauce for dipping is in the cupcake cup, and salad cream for the coleslaw is in the pig cup. The coleslaw is thinly sliced purple cabbage, shredded carrot, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries – easy stuff.

I have another yoga class tomorrow night, so here’s 4 helpings of bento’d awesomeness:

004

Breakfast is vegan overnight oats with chia seeds – they’re the unappetizing black dots… I’m really hoping this tastes good and/or I’m hungry enough to eat it tomorrow! – 1/2 cup quick oats, 1 tbsp. chia seeds, 1 cup vanilla almond milk – in bento box, shake up, leave overnight in fridge – can quickly nuke to warm it up the next day at work.

Snacks are a mini brie and some crackers for morning snack, and apple slices (dipped in lemon juice to prevent browning) with 1 tbsp. peanut butter for afternoon snack.

Don’t forget to enter my latest giveaway: https://veggiebentolove.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/gratitude-and-giveaway/ until Feb. 3, 2013 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pub-grub inspired bento, vegan overnight oats, and snacks

  1. Hi there!

    I just found your blog and love it.
    I saw someone else mention something about recipes and I would definitely be interested in a recipe section or just more details on how you made the items going in to your bento boxes. I understand you use left overs but I see some things you have in your boxes that I would love to know how to make.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

