Gratitude and giveaway!

I am really thankful to my blog readers. What started as an experimental exercise in creativity has blossomed into an outlet to express myself, and share with people who read my blog. Many of them are interested in either vegetarian food, bento, or both, but I also have readers who are not connected with the bento blogosphere. It may just be pictures of my lunch and the occasional cupcake (I need to get back on the Cupcake Friday! bandwagon…), but I appreciate that people read and comment on my bento lunches. With the gratitude that I have for those who read my blog in mind, here is a bento giveaway.

I recently spent two days at a conference in Richmond, BC, and managed to find time to get some bento supplies! With my decision to keep my blog ad-free, I do not solicit companies to send me products to review, and therefore keep the blog creative, not commercialized. Blogging my lunches is an outlet, not a business (between teaching teenagers from September – June, and selling cupcakes in July and August, I am plenty busy enough already!). These supplies were purchased with personal funds. I was very happy to have found the following:

010

A very cute, slim (so can fit in a messenger bag quite nicely) bento, complete with chopsticks that fit under the lid and a belt to keep the tiers together. This box is around 600mL, which is usually the size of most of my bentos.

011

Readers will know that I’m all about the snacks – hypoglycemia isn’t fun, but snacks make it better – so here’s a matching, 250mL snack bento. You could probably put soup in here too, as it has a seal.

And to accessorize:

012

A bento bag with insulated layer, 2 sauce bottles, and some food cups. Everything to get you started is here!

To enter, and this giveaway is open worldwide (as long as you have a mailing address!), the rules are similar to my previous giveaway. Please tell me what you enjoy about the blog, and/or what you’d like to see more of. I want to make a blog that is pleasurable to read. I will use my gaming dice to choose a winner on February 3rd, at 1800 MST. Please leave me an email address if you are a blog reader, not a writer, so I can contact you if you are the winner to get your mailing details.

22 thoughts on “Gratitude and giveaway!

  1. I absolutely love your blog! I have been reading for a long time. I love seeing the creative ways you put your lunch together. I would like to see more of the recipes you use. Thanks for writting such a fun blog. 🙂

  2. I’m not entering your giveaway because I have so many of my own bento things and other people deserve a chance to get into this awesome, healthy hobby! You always inspire me to make more vegetarian bentos and so many great ideas. I just wanted to say the pink bento box and snack box are adorable! I love the lace pattern! Also, gaming dice? What do you play? 🙂

  3. I love this blog because i find veggie packed lunches very frustrating, specially when im packing them for my non veggie partner. This blog helps me show him how awesome veggie meals can be! Now he looks forward to getting home made pack lunches from me!

  4. I love looking at all your amazing lunches. they look like they would taste so good…and they always look so pretty! Most of the time my lunches taste good, but they are in miss matched ziploc or gladware …or even worse: empty becel tubs! Win or lose, I’m looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful lunches!

  5. Love your blog! I’ve been making bento style lunches for my very picky, mostly vegetarian, son, and it’s great to see all the ideas for different foods and cute presentations!

  6. I love the pictures of your wonderful cupcakes :)! I would like to try one of those but unfortunately I’m too lazy to make them myself. If you have an easy recipe you wouldn’t mind sharing, I’d love to try it out.

  7. I really enjoy your blog because I am not a vegetarian and I get a lot oof ideas for vegetabledishes from your blog. My cooking is otherwise more meatfocused, so I enjoy learning more about vegetable dishes. 🙂 As a child I did not like veggies, so I did not bother to learn the recipes from my moother, but now I want to live more healthy. You know 5 a day and such, so it is a big help!

  8. There’s a great vegetarian restaurant in Richmond called Veggie Bunch – if you’re ever there again you should check it out! Now about that giveaway – I like your blog for the lunch ideas… I’m going to start making lunches for my SO to bring to work with him, so I’ll definitely be referring to your blog to trigger my imagination! I don’t know much about the whole bento thing, so it would be cool to hear a little about how it originated 🙂

  9. Your blog is always so creative. The bentos are colorful and should make some the most picky eaters at least want a taste! While I am not a vegetarian, I love seeing how you combine your ingredients to make a delightful meal.

  10. That is such a cute box!
    I enjoy seeing your creative lunches and I like the playful bento things you have 😉
    More recipes would be nice, but often it’s the idea that matters. What kind of things you put together and so on 😉

  11. Hi there!
    You recommended your blog to me recently and now I can’t get enough. All of the meals are giving me some great inspiration. I have never made a bento box before and now I am really interested.

  12. As a new “bento”- person I enjoy your blogs very much. I do eat meat myself, but not everyday so the fact that you’re a vegetarian is interesting for me, I get creative ideas. I’d love to learn more about how to use little bits of vegetables, little leftovers as to say, in a way to make a new dish of them. Say I have half a cucumber left in my fridge, what can I do with that? Or some bulgur / sage / whatever? Just to help us all get more creative, live green and not too expensive.

  13. I really like bento boxes – and the simple ideas for them. That’s why I found and read your blog 🙂 I’ve already shared some ideas with my friends.

  14. I actually can’t find my gaming dice. I used random.org, which gave me 1 as the first, and therefore winning number, when I did a sequence generator. That means NotJustaKnitWit wins 🙂 I will be emailing you to get your mailing address.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

