Mac-and-cheese style cauliflower, with pasta

001

I love having dual citizenship, and how it pertains to perceiving food. The Brit part of me knows cauliflower is deelish covered in cheese sauce, baked, and is called ‘cauliflower cheese’, but the Canadian part saw this recipe (http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/mac-and-cheese-style-cauliflower/) and doesn’t want to rename it back to British English. I tried it (recipe halves quite nicely) without the garlic and it was quite yummy, but I think next time I will omit the nutritional yeast and egg yolk too – but this could just be my palate; go ahead and try the recipe as-is with the ‘nooch’, which is very nutritious. I also added some ground white pepper, in accordance to how I was taught in high school! (Thanks to Kiwi T who picked some up for me last time she went home to New Zealand.)

The other tier of the bento has funky pasta shapes, a home-made marinara sauce with some baked faux meatballs:

1 28-oz can of tomatoes – Canadians, the best I’ve found this side of the border are President’s Choice Organic, crushed by your hands over the pot you’re cooking in,
a good glug of extra virgin olive oil,
and some Italian herb blend.

Place together in a pot, and simmer for 20 minutes or so while you make everything else.

Snacks – am: babybel and crackers, pm: mango-cherry blend dried fruit.

Giveaway linky: https://veggiebentolove.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/gratitude-and-giveaway/

3 thoughts on “Mac-and-cheese style cauliflower, with pasta

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

