Cupcake Friday!

001

Our school colours are blue and white. We have professional development days prior to welcoming students back each year, and I had the idea of blue and white cupcakes to do my part to show appreciation for the amazing staff I am a part of (over a year ago, I’m really doing well with delving into the archives here). You can see from the batter that making blue velvet didn’t quite work out how I had intended, but the cream cheese icing with blue fondant shapes, and a spritzing of lustre dust more than made up for it. Who wouldn’t want to start their new year off with one of these? Cupcake On!

5 thoughts on “Cupcake Friday!

  1. Awww! I need to get some cupcake stuff, too. Though every time I read the recipes for the glazing I feel like “fat, fat and more fat” …. -_- And then I don’t want to make/eat it anymore. Do you have some recipes that are comparatively fat-free?

  2. If you really need a fat-free recipe, you can use a jar of marshmallow fluff, or make your own fluffy meringue frosting… 1/2 cup each egg whites and sugar, place in a double boiler and whisk continuously until there is no more graininess when rubbed between your fingers, then place in a kitchenaid mixer and whip on high speed until the bowl is cool to the touch. Add in a little vanilla, and frost.

    I haven’t really explored low fat baking, as believe it or not, I rarely eat a whole cupcake. I taste the batter, and from that I can tell if they’re good, and I save a full cupcake for special occasions.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

