Yummy in a bento: moist, creamy hummus

001

It’s been a while since I found a hummus recipe that really really makes me happy, but here we are:

http://www.panningtheglobe.com/2013/03/05/hummus/

I just made it (with 1 19oz can of chickpeas, as canned beans come in different sizes in the US and Canada, and I find that Canadian beans are packed more tightly with less sauce in the can too), and was immediately compelled to dip some raw celery into it.  I would halve the amount of salt called for (but then I am notorious for undersalting food, as your palate adjusts and too much sodium is not healthy), and add some black pepper.  I can see the flavour working really well with some chipotle in adobo to heat it up if you wanted to mix things up a bit.  Happy hummusing, people!

I plan on using this hummus to snack on with veggies, and to put into sandwiches with more veggies. Hummus and veggies – there’s a tasty trend!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

