Avocado sandwich bento, and how to keep half an avocado from browning

002

Pretty boxes; what’s inside them?

001

A day full of meals for me! I have overnight oatmeal made with quick oats, almond milk, chia seeds to chill out together in the fridge overnight, and some chocolate raspberry granola to stir in before eating when I get to work tomorrow. For snack, I have a baby orange, strawberries, blueberries, almonds, and a mini brie. For lunch, I have the ingredients to make an avocado and tomato sandwich, but because both foods are high in moisture, and one of them will brown if I cut it too much, they’re in a separate box. I also have a baby cuke for crunch and to fill space, too.

Purchasing an avocado is interesting. They’re rock-hard in the grocery store, stay rock-hard for a few days no matter how much you will them to ripen, and then you’d better hope you’re still feeling like eating them when they’re ripe, because they’ll over-ripen in about .2 seconds. Today was avocado day, and I enjoyed a tasty grilled avocado and cheese sandwich for lunch. I took the remaining half avocado, splashed lemon juice on it, then wrapped it in clingfilm. I’m taunting you in this photo with the cut side up, but as soon as I took a photo, I flipped it cut side down.

11 thoughts on “Avocado sandwich bento, and how to keep half an avocado from browning

  1. Apparently, also leaving the pit in prevents it from browning. Make a bowl of guacamole: put the pit in it and no browning, leave the pit in the side in your lunch kit: no browning… You get the idea! I have yet to test the theory. Worth a shot?

  2. I coat mine in a thin layer of lemon juice. It does work. The longest I’ve kept it for without browning was two days. I then use the excess lemon juice to make a salad dressing. No waste. πŸ™‚

  3. We are crazy for avocados in our house, and waiting for them to ripen is difficult, but I have it down to a pretty good routine of picking out perfect ones, and knowing it will take another 3 or 4 days to be perfect to eat. Keeping air off the cut side is key, I’ve done lemon (or lime) juice in a containter, and it still brings. cling film and lemon juice works best for me too!

  4. Ha, my experience with avocados too. By the time they ripen I’ve forgotten they’re there, buried in the fruit bowl. How interesting you bring two meals and a snack…you must get up early! I love the variety and colour in there…lots of contrasting textures too!

    • I can’t usually eat first thing in the morning, but I am not good at getting up earlier to eat. I either have a smoothie or toast that I make in the morning and take to school with me, or I make the overnight oats. Everything on the blog is made the night before. Mornings are not my friends!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

