Guest post: Avril Hoekks

003

Hi everyone, following the success of my and Bento Amour’s guest post series, I was able to arrange another guest writer for you. Avril submitted this beautiful Japanese sushi bento for your enjoyment. The maki look amazing, the egg is cooked to perfection, and the apple bunnies are a classic bento side-dish and I’m glad to see them here.

(Did I get you? April Fools!)

Vegetarian (not vegan, although I plan to master vegan marshmallows one day…) puffed rice squares:

3 tbsp. butter, melted – then instead of a bag of marshmallows, add a jar of marshmallow fluff – stir around until all melty, then add in 5 cups (not 6 as per the regular recipe) of puffed rice cereal. I’m using an organic brown rice cereal to counterbalance the sugar hehe. It won’t quite set up as well as regular rice Krispy squares, but it also won’t dry out like they can. For the bento, I took some of the mixture, laid it over some fruit rollup strips, and rolled up as per maki with nori. It’s very sticky. I’m really glad everything I used to make them is going in the dishwasher and the heat in there will melt it all away!

I also added a chocolate egg with mousse centre, apple bunnies, and a wasabi leaf made from green fondant with soy sauce recreated by a dash of vanilla extract. I was once at a sushi place where the wasabi had been made into a leaf shape, and had to recreate it here.

Happy April Fools Day!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

