Goat cheese, fig jam, lettuce sandwich, potato salad, and veggies

003

Today’s bento photography has been brought to you by my son. He did a pretty good job – got each picture in two takes! I have a goat cheese, fig jam, and romaine lettuce sandwich on sprouted grain bread. I should have presented it more prettily as neither you nor I can see the fillings!

I made potato salad using roasted instead of boiled potatoes with an awesome chipotle mayo I picked up while foodie-exploring in Vancouver. You could just as easily use regular mayo. The dressing is a big blob of mayo, a small blob of Dijon or other hot mustard, the juice of half a lemon, and a good sprinkling of black pepper. Salt to taste (I didn’t use any). I also added some grated carrot and finely diced celery. I wasn’t thinking about that when I put more cut celery and carrots into the bento, but I do enjoy those veggies, so it will work out. Finally, I have some raw pepper pieces and a tiny pickle too.

In the exciting world of pbj bentos, seems I’ve found a winning formula, and again, photo courtesy of my 12 year old son:

002

pbj, fruit, veggies, yogurt. He’s a very happy camper – even willing to accept pb in his sandwich again. I have a feeling this will be the theme for a while.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

