Rice and edamame salad, strawberries – allegedly alkalizing bento

001

I know this is the same bento box two days in a row, but I can’t help it! All day, tasty circular meals have popped in and out of my head!

In the bottom/larger tier, I have a layer of brown rice, and on top, lightly steamed carrots, edamame, corn, raw grape tomatoes, sesame seeds, enoki mushrooms (have never tried before!), and a couple of pieces of green/spring onions.

In the top/smaller tier, I have the most deelish dressing from Eating the Alkaline Way: Recipes for a Well-Balanced Honestly Healthy Lifestyle by Natasha Corrett and Vicki Edgson. It’s called “My Secret Salad Dressing” but since they published it in a book, it’s no longer a secret, so I can share it here:

1/4 cup evoo
2 tbsp. tamari (or soy sauce if not experimenting with alkaline eating)
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar (not the $20/bottle syrupy good stuff!)
1 tbsp. agave syrup (this works well with honey and maple syrup too)

Mix. Drizzle over rice salad (or other big tasty green salad). Eat. I also have strawberries and dark chocolate almond spread to dip them in.

tl:dr with regards to alkaline eating: eat plants, and avoid gluten, meat, and cows dairy. Limit eggs and sheep/goat dairy. Although the recipes in the book are amazing, and none have failed me yet, so the book is still well worth reading (and the photography is gorgeous)! I’m still not so sure about maintaining blood pH through diet, but there is a lot to be said about eating foods that won’t contribute to inflammation, as that’s the root cause of so many so-called Western diseases and conditions.

6 thoughts on “Rice and edamame salad, strawberries – allegedly alkalizing bento

  1. Those are big enoki mushrooms!! (I always love them fried up with noodles — because they’re so long and skinny, they just blend right in, then burst in your mouth with mushroomy awesomeness.)
    I’m interested to know how your alkalizing foods experiment goes : ) Let us know how you feel!

    • I found some mushroom steam noodles in Vancouver, so I think the enoki fried in there will be deelish 🙂 Thank you for the idea!

      There isn’t much of a difference with how I ate before and trying out the alkaline eating. Pasta and bread are out, but sprouted mixed grain bread seems to be less acidic from what I’ve read so I’ve stuck to that. It was an easy switch to goat/sheep cheese as they’re pretty yummy, and once my container of whey protein is gone, I’ll switch to a non-soy vegan protein for breakfast smoothies. So far, so good, and the recipes in the book haven’t let me down yet!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

