Cannellini bean spread, roast potatoes, and big salad bento

003

It’s Sunday on a long weekend, so I don’t need a bento. It’s raining, and it’s the kind of persistent, cold, damp rain that makes you not want to go outside. I’m taking my son swimming and then to a dinner out, so I will leave the house today. To combat the boredom, I made myself a bento. In the bigger tier, I have green leaf lettuce, cucumber, tomato, broccoli, and red cabbage with extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar to dress. In the top tier, I have some white bean spread from Vegetarian Times magazine:

~sautee 2 minced cloves of garlic in 1 tsp. olive oil
~add in 1.5 cups cooked cannellini (aka white kidney) beans (or 1 15-oz can)
~mash the beans
~pour in 3/4 cup water, and cook for about 10 minutes until the mixture resembles refried beans.

This recipe is intended for sandwiches (yummy!), but I cooked a batch of beans yesterday and wanted to work with them today, so I placed some in a food cup and bento-ified it instead 🙂

I also have some baby red-skinned potatoes roasted (at 400’C for 25 minutes) with a sprinkling of paprika, oregano, and garlic powder, and given a little canola oil to help it all stick and prevent the tatoes from drying out.

Finally, some apple slices give me a sweet dessert.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

