A bowl by any other name…

003

Mmm mmm mmm, a tasty bowl bento for tomorrow’s lunch. The recipe for this bowl comes from a ski resort café in Nelson, BC, so really my own back yard (well not quite!). It was originally called the glory bowl, but I’ve also seen this called the Rocky Mountain bowl and the Buddha bowl (didn’t think Buddha liked to go skiing in the Kootenays, but who knows?).

The original recipe is here, serving 8 hungry vegans or wannabe vegans. This is important because there are many adaptations and variations on this dish:

2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 cups cubed extra-firm tofu
8 cups hot cooked brown rice
2 cups grated carrots
2 cups grated beets
2 cups packed baby spinach leafbaby spinach leaves
2 cups slivered almonds, toasted

~Heat the oil, and fry the tofu.
~Divide the rice between 8 bowls.
~Layer on the spinach, then beet and carrot.
~Layer on the tofu.
~Top with almonds and dressing.

Glory Bowl Dressing:
1/2 cup nutritional yeast flakes
1/3 cup Tamari or soy sauce
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup water
2 tbsp. tahini
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1-1/2 cups vegetable oil

Go ahead and make the full (or halve the recipe, but I don’t have a 1/6 cup measure, so I made the whole thing because I’m too lazy to play with fractions) recipe, because it’s tasty, full of alkalizing noms, and goes super well on all sorts of salad-y and noodle-y dishes. Just throw everything into a blender (the larger magic bullet cup fits this nicely if you drop the oil down to a cup), or if going off the grid and doing this by hand, grate/crush/whatever the garlic into a big mason jar, then add all the ingredients, then give it a really good shake until all emulsified together.

I took about a cup of cooked brown rice and placed that in my bowl bento to cool – not that you can see it under the toppings. Then I layered on baby spinach, grated carrot, and grated beet, but I didn’t measure them. I then added some smoked tofu instead of the fried cubed extra-firm tofu. I have the dressing in the cupcake cup to freshly dress the salad tomorrow at lunch. I also adapted the recipe by substituting some raw pumpkin seeds instead of toasted almonds, because I don’t have slivered ones on hand – only whole raw.

You are absolutely not limited to the veggies mentioned here. I’ve seen bloggers use red cabbage, quinoa, and whatever else is on hand. Basically, it’s the combo of brown rice, raw veggies, and tofu that make the magic happen.

Snacks will be grapes for the morning break, and a bar from my vegan cuts box for the afternoon. I will be doing a post on that service soon – I’m in snack heaven!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

