Tamarind lentils (with recipe), tomatoes, cilantro/coriander, brown rice

002

You, my readers, really are wonderful. I haven’t been able to post as much as usual, and yet you’re all still coming and reading. Thank you. I have the end of the school year to thank (our year end party and lunch today in the resource room went very well – one of us), but in addition to ‘the uuuuush’ I have a 2-day working session in Vancouver for an LGBTQ action group that I’m a part of. I will be home for two days then I fly to Toronto for a LGBTQ ally/caregiver conference with delegates from all across the country. I am needless to say super happy to be working on both trips, but it means I need to get all my end-of-year sp.ed things done prior to leaving. Things are busy.

Make these lentils. They’re amazing! They’re made with only minor adaptations from Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero, on p. 123 (how easy is that to remember if you have a copy?).

2 tbsp. coconut or peanut oil (I used evoo because I had it on hand)
2 cloves garlic, minced
a couple of centimetres’ worth of minced ginger (I held a frozen gingerroot and microplaned it into the pot until I got bored of doing so, but I can never get enough ginger. The recipe calls for a 1/2 inch cube of ginger, peeled and minced)
1 large onion, diced
1 tsp. garam masala (curry powder if you can’t find it, but honestly, it’s everywhere – smaller town Canadians – Superstore has it in the ‘ethnic’ foods aisle)
1/2 tsp. whole cumin seeds
generous pinch of cayenne
1 cup dried lentils
2 cups vegetable broth
2 tsp. tamarind paste (chutney would work if you don’t have this, but will change the taste a little)
1 tbsp. maple syrup or agave
2 tbsp. tomato paste
1/2 tsp. salt

-heat the oil over medium heat
-sautee the ginger and garlic for about 30 seconds
-add in the onion, and fry for 2-3 minutes
-add in the garam masala, cumin seeds, cayenne, and fry for 30 seconds
-add in the lentils and broth
-cover and simmer for 25-30 minutes until the lentils are soft
-add more water if you think it needs it. The dish is supposed to be thicker.
-remove lid, add in tamarind paste, maple syrup/agave, tomato paste, and salt.

Eat.

I have some of the lentil dish in one side of the bigger tier, some cut tomatoes in the other side, and cilantro over everything just for some colour and a bit of a flavour kick (not that the lentils need it). In the smaller tier, I have brown rice with raw carrot and beet flowers, tamari in the fish, and mango chutney at the end.

2 thoughts on “Tamarind lentils (with recipe), tomatoes, cilantro/coriander, brown rice

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

