Olive tapenade sandwich, broccoli salad

003

Disclaimer: sprouted grain bread is not necessarily gluten free. This is a bento for the hubs tomorrow, and he can still eat gluten 🙂

I have an olive tapenade, tomato, and lettuce sandwich on sprouted grain bread with some celery sticks to fill gaps and prevent shifting. The recipe is halved from: http://wiseandwonderfulcookery.com/2012/11/06/olive-toasts/, (without the parsley as none was on hand, and without the cheese because hubs hates it) and I only needed the lower end of the olive oil called for to make a nice smooth spread. I’m not a fan of olives, but I did try some in order to share that it tastes fresh and the flavour of the olives is perfect!

In the other tier, I have a broccoli, red onion, sunflower seed, and dried cranberry salad. It’s the ingredients in The China Study Cookbook by Leanne Campbell (daughter of the author of The China Study). I didn’t make the dressing called for as I have no silken tofu (and that would probably freak the spousal unit out a little), so I used some agave, spicy mustard, rice vinegar, and lemon juice to dress the mixture.

Weird going gluten free funfact: Coffee seems to be more potent now. Only one cup is enough to fully caffeinate me. Strange! I had read that people feel foggy mentally when they accidentally ingest gluten, so I’m hoping this means I’m getting healthier again.

7 thoughts on “Olive tapenade sandwich, broccoli salad

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

