In which Lizzie goes off the deep end with a ton of bentos

006

I’m taking my son on a mini roadtrip tomorrow, and we’re leaving hubs at home to work. I felt guilty, and I don’t know how much time he’ll have to make lunches and snacks as it’s the busiest time of year for him, so I made him three days’ worth of bento goodness in addition to a picnic lunch and snacks for me and our son on the way to our destination.

I can’t believe that I first made this much food, or how much bentoing can be done in one go! I kept it as simple as possible by using the same ingredients across multiple bentos.

Monday – quinoa with black beans or chicken and lots of diced veggies,
Tuesday (hubs) – same, but varying the veg and presentation a bit,
Wednesday (hubs) – big salad with veggies and chicken, and

snacks are mostly fruit, as it’s in season, is cheap, and plentiful.

Here’s a close-up of my picnic lunch bento for tomorrow:

010

And my son’s – lots of fruit, veggies, and BBQ corn tubular chip thingies (that reminded me of the Hula Hoops crisps I used to eat as a kid, but they don’t taste the same), and a pbj:

011

6 thoughts on “In which Lizzie goes off the deep end with a ton of bentos

  1. Thank you everyone 🙂 As an aside, I forgot the cooler bag with my and my son’s lunches in! That being said, I came home to a dishwasher full of clean and emptied bento boxes, so I know my husband got them all taken care of!

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

