Roast tofu, spaceship squash, baby potatoes, kale salad, fruit

023

I managed to get signed up in time for Vegan MoFo (www.veganmofo.com), and I’m super-excited to provide a whole month’s worth of vegan bentos. I will temporarily change Cupcake Friday! to Vegan Baking Friday! to provide some variety and showcase what awesomeness can be made, but to make up for it, I will post the actual recipes I use to make the treats – rarely do I post a cuppie recipe for some unknown reason.

For tomorrow’s lunch, I have roasted smoked tofu (check the label to make sure it’s gluten-free), spaceship squash (fine, they’re pattypan but spaceship sounds cooler!), and baby potatoes. I have a massaged kale salad:

~place a big handful of kale per person into a bowl. Remove as much of the stems as you feel like – these are just baby kales, so I left a bunch of strings in there. Tear the leaves up a bit.
~drizzle over some safflower or extra virgin olive oil, as much sea salt as you feel like, and a big squeeze of lemon over the kale. No measuring – just go with it. I used about 1/2 tsp oil and the juice of 1/2 lemon.
~give the kale a massage. Baby kale didn’t take long, grown up kale may take up to 3 minutes to soften up.

This can be eaten as is, used as the basis for a more interesting salad, or placed into a bento where it will do very well. In fact, this will keep for up to a week in the fridge (if it lasts that long!). I put some baby tomatoes and a pepperoncini on the kale salad too. Finally, I have some apple slices and cherries. The cupcake container holds a mixture of 3:1 vegan safflower mayo and Sriracha to dip the roasted goodies into. Nice and spicy and creamy!

What I love about this lunch is that all the produce except the apple came from within 200km of my small town! Pretty exciting 🙂 Maybe I should have pulled a crabapple off my tree, but they’re not always good for eating raw.

4 thoughts on “Roast tofu, spaceship squash, baby potatoes, kale salad, fruit

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

