Vegan Baking Friday!

003

As I mentioned earlier this week, for Vegan MoFo 2013, I’m expanding from the cupcake obsession to baking in general. This week’s offerings are some wheat-free chocolate chip cookies, very loosely adapted from the awesome Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero. If you’re at all curious about Vegan cooking, I strongly recommend you get the book. If you’re secure in eating all foods but want to liven up how you cook veggies, then I strongly recommend you get the book! The book is particularly suited to North American audiences in the types of recipes featured, and the authors were careful to make sure that most recipes could be made with ingredients found in small-town supermarkets (very much appreciated, as I live in one).

What I love about vegan baking is that it defies the rules of creaming and emulsifying that we were all taught – it’s usually a gloriously simple matter of wet into dry, choose baking dish/sheet of choice, and away you go! Add that I no longer have to worry about activating gluten structures and creating tough baked goods by overmixing now that I’m gluten-free, and baking is crazy easy (although has never been especially difficult for me, let’s face it). My inner science geek still makes me obsessively measure everything, but it’s more fun and less structured now.

Place in Kitchenaid (or big mixing bowl):

~1 tbsp. ground flax seeds
~1/4 cup water (recipe calls for soy milk, I had none on hand)

Then add:

~1/4 cup brown sugar
~1/2 cup granulated sugar
~1/3 cup safflower oil (recipe calls for canola; any neutral-tasting oil will do nicely)
~a nice glug of vanilla (recipe calls for 1 tsp., but honestly, who measures for home baking?)

Mix until emulsified.

Now for the dry ingredients! Loosely sprinkle onto the wet ingredients:

~1 3/4 cup gluten free flour of choice (recipe calls for oat flour; I used some all-purpose flour blend and quinoa flour to use what’s in my baking cupboard)
~1/2 tsp. baking soda
~1/4 tsp. salt

Mix the ingredients, and add in:

~3/4 cup chocolate chips (as far as I can tell, these are vegan. Always read the label to be sure your dietary and ethical needs are met).

You’re supposed to drop the batter by tablespoons onto the baking sheet, but I used my cupcake scoop for some giant cookies: I got 12, recipe should yield 18. I am the mother of a pre-teen boy after all! Go big or go home! The recipe calls for baking at 375′ for 10-12 minutes for normal sized cookies. Psssh! (although these are too big to fit into a bento…)

6 thoughts on “Vegan Baking Friday!

    • vanillafoodcompany.ca (if you’re in North America, the shipping rates are great) – brings the price down a bit and the Neilson-Massey is absolutely deelish, but I’m happy with you measuring šŸ™‚ Costco’s vanilla is also pretty good, not quite the depth of flavour, and cheap!

  1. Most commercially available chocolate chips (that are on the shelf at a common grocery store) are processed by adding sugar and milk or milk fat to the cocoa, so it is not vegan. There are plenty of higher quality (less processed) chocolates available that are vegan, but they are usually much more expensive and less widely available. Green and Blacks Organic, Trader Joe’s, and Newman’s Own are some of the ones I can think of that might be more widely available that others.

    • Actually, I have a fantastic local supermarket that has more selection and better prices than most health food stores, including (the honestly overrated) Whole Foods. I don’t have a Trader Joe’s anywhere near me, but other than that, I have access to really fantastic food. I’m not vegan, so when I participated in the Vegan MoFo 2013 I was very careful to explain how to begin veganizing for those who are new to the process, and because my blog is gluten-free, I remind people who may be new to read the label carefully.

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

