Vegan Baking Friday!

014

OMG do these taste sweet! Wow. They’re good! They’re graham crackers with nuts and peanut butter, then topped with a chocolatey ganache layer. No baking, just chilling.

No-bake peanut butter bars
(The China Study Cookbook, Leanne Campbell, PhD)

1 cup low-fat graham crackers, crushed (top-tip, I just threw them whole into the Kitchenaid and let it bash them around a bit before proceeding to add the rest of the goodies)
1/4 cup crushed walnuts
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/3 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup non-dairy milk

-mix together. Press into 9×9 baking dish.

1 cup non-dairy chocolate chips
5 tbsp. rice or almond milk

-melt together. Pour over peanut butter layer. Chill in fridge.

My adaptation using what I had in my house instead of going to the store again – and do you have any idea how expensive gluten-free graham crackers are?

1 cup gluten-free fake graham crackers (smooshed in Kitchenaid)
1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
1/3 cup regular smooth peanut butter
1/4 cup almond milk

-mix together in Kitchenaid. Press into 8×8 baking dish.

1 cup non-dairy chocolate chips
1/4 cup almond milk

-melt, pour over peanut butter layer. Chill in fridge.

Were I making these again, I would only add enough milk to the peanut butter mixture stage until it comes together – it seemed a little too moist overall.

9 thoughts on “Vegan Baking Friday!

    • Thanks. I love them. They were acquired when I married my husband; they were his grandmother’s before. I managed to find enough on eBay to make up a full set of 12 each dinner and side plates. They’re now crazy expensive, so I’m glad I was able to get them cheap when I could.

    • Thank you. I’m awful at following recipes straight through if I can make a substitution and be smarter with managing what I have on hand. I’m having a great time in Vancouver. It’s one of my favourite places to visit 🙂

Tell us veggie bento lovers what you think!

